Informatica Certification Developer Specialist

PowerCenter Data Integration 9.x: Developer, Specialist Certification

This is Skill set Inventory document from Oracle website. Here you will get all the information which is required for the Informatica certification Perspective.

About the Informatica Certified Professional (ICP) Program

Informatica certification is a two-stage structure that correlates professional certification with the “what, why and how” of Informatica implementations:

Specialist – To achieve Specialist recognition, a candidate must pass a written exam, proctored in person or via webcam. The Specialist exam validates that the individual understands the product and can apply the skills and capabilities required to contribute to a project as a full team member.

Expert – To reach the Expert level an Informatica Certified Specialist must pass Informatica Velocity Best Practices and Implementation Methodologies Certification. This certification validates that you are able to lead a project implementation team following our best practices.

Our new exams have been developed to define product competency by job role, where demonstrated performance and outcomes validate Informatica implementation skills.

About the PowerCenter Data Integration 9.x: Developer Specialist Exam and the Skill Set Inventory

This exam measures your competency as a member of a project implementation team.

      — Import sources, targets and lookups.
      — Design simple to complex mappings using various transformations like filter, expression etc.
      — Design, execute and monitor the workflow, incorporating various tasks like session, timer etc.
      — Practical experience of troubleshooting mappings, sessions and workflows using session/workflow logs, debugger
      — Craft reusable transformations, mapplets and worklets
      — Incorporate reusability using shortcuts
      — Incorporate parameters and variable while designing mappings and workflows.

The skill set inventory is used to guide your preparation before taking the exam. It is an outline of the technical topics and subject areas that are covered in each exam. The skill set inventory includes test domain weighting, test objectives and topical content. The topics and concepts are included to clarify the test objectives.

Test takers will be tested on:

— Mapping Design Basic
— Mapping Design Advanced
— Parameters and Variables
— Transformation Language
— Troubleshooting
— Workflows and Worklets
— Architecture & Administration

Training Prerequisites

The skills and knowledge areas measured by this exam are focused on product core functionality inside the realm of a standard project implementation. Training materials, supporting documentation and practical experience may become sources of question development.

The recommended training prerequisites for Specialist certification are the completion of the following Informatica course(s):

— PowerCenter 9.x Level 1 Developer
— PowerCenter 9.x Level 2 Developer

Exam Test Domains

The test domains and the extent to which they are represented as an estimated percentage of the exam follows:

TopicsPercentage of Test
Mapping Design Basic45 %
Mapping Design Advanced20 %
Parameters and Variables5 %
Transformation Language10 %
Troubleshooting5 %
Workflows and Worklets10 %
Architecture and Administration5 %

Question Format

You may select from one or more response offerings to answer a question.

You will score the question correctly if your response accurately completes the statement or answers the question. Incorrect distractors are given as possible correct answers so that those without the required skills and experience may wrongly select that choice.

A passing grade of 70% is needed to achieve recognition as a Certified Informatica PowerCenter Data Integration 9.x: Developer, Specialist.

You are given 90 minutes to complete the exam.

Test formats used in this exam are:

— Multiple Choice: Select one option that best answers the question or completes the statement
— Multiple Response: Select all that apply to best answer the question or complete the statement
— True/False: After reading the statement or questions select the best answer

Test Topics

The exam will contain 70 questions comprised of topics that span across the sections listed below. In order to ensure that you are prepared for the test, review the subtopics with each section.

Mapping Design Basic

— Use of the PowerCenter Designer Tool
— Use of the PowerCenter Workflow Manager Tool
— User of the PowerCenter Workflow Monitor Tool
— Source Qualifier Transformation and SQL Statement Generation
— Expression Transformation
— Aggregator Transformation
— Lookup Transformation
— Filter Transformation
— Joiner Transformation
— Union Transformation
— Update Strategy Transformation
— Mapplet
— User Defined Functions
— Active and Passive Rules

Mapping Design Advanced

— SQL Overrides
— Stored Procedure Transformation
— Unconnected Lookup Transformation
— XML Transformation
— HTTP Transformation
— Transaction Management with Active Transformations
— Java Transformation
— Normalizer Transformation
— SQL Transformation

Parameters and Variables

— Variable Assignment
— Parameter Files

Transformation Language

— Transformation Functions


— Practical Experience
— PowerCenter Workflow Monitor
— Log Management

Workflows and Worklets

— Workflows
— Worklets
— Workflow Tasks

Architecture & Administration

— Domain and Node Architecture
— Informatica PowerCenter Commands

Good Luck for the exam, I will be preparing notes for this certification, Keep you posted.

Subscribe my You Tube Channel  and follow my FB page to get latest updates …

You May Also Like

About the Author: kvt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *